Ancestry Library Edition [Not available remotely]
Ancestry Library Edition has a wide variety of databases to help the family researcher including: Images of all available U.S. Censuses, most with indexes for easier searching Military service databases, such as the Civil War Pension Index; The Immigrant and Passenger List for one of the largest collections of immigration information; The Social Security Death Index which covers relatives that lived and died in the 20th century. AncestryPlus also contains a wide variety of other sources such as city directories, published histories of families and counties, old birth and death records, plus much, much more. AncestryPlus also includes foreign country records. (Available from within the library only.)
FindMyPast [Not available remotely]
Findmypast is a UK-based online genealogy service owned, since 2007, by British company DC Thomson. The website hosts over 4 billion searchable records of census, directory and historical record information.
Heritage Quest Online [Available remotely]
HeritageQuest is a genealogical tool that contains several databases. Complete U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1940 including the page images and corresponding indexes for the entire census, the PERiodical Source Index, a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800 and ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Collection of 25,000+ family and local history books, every word searchable. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).
Newspapers.com [Available remotely]
Newspapers.com provides access to 4,300+ newspapers from the 1700s to the 2000s. Additional pages added each month. Useful for retrieving articles and for genealogists.
Wilmette Local History & Genealogy Resources [Available remotely]
The Wilmette Public Library local history page contains links to photographs, books, letters, newspapers, obituary index, and oral histories about the village of Wilmette and New Trier Township in Cook County, Illinois, U.S.A.
Wilmette Local Newspapers [Available remotely]
Index to the local newspaper. Some full text obituaries in the index. Coverage: News 1991-present; Obituaries 1969-2012; Local News 1989-1916; Lake Shore News 1912-1923; Wilmette Life 1923-1939. (Library and remote access.)